Welcome!

Welcome to my first post of my first blog!  I decided to start this blog as a way to be more creative in the kitchen!  I love cooking but I admit that I am prone to cooking the same meals over and over again.   Several things have led to my decision to start this blog:

1.  I love watching Chopped on the Food Network!  I think the idea of having to create a dish using several random ingredients that don’t initially seem to complement each other is inspiring!  At least one ingredient during every episode leaves me saying “Huh?!?…what on earth is that?”  or “How the heck do you cook that?  I don’t even know what portion is edible!”.

2.  I was talking to some coworkers this week and we were talking about vegetables that we like to eat.  I realized that there are so many common vegetables that I have never even tried (collard greens, chard, parsnips, etc….)!

3.  I love to eat!  Because I have celiac disease, I cook all of my own food to avoid getting sick.  I have lost weight and feel healthier overall since I cook so much, but sometimes I miss trying exotic dishes out at restaurants!  If I can be more creative in my kitchen at home, I won’t feel so bored with my eats!

My plan is to pick an ingredient every week.  It could be a vegetable, a spice, anything!  It may be something that most people eat regularly but that I have never tried, or it could be something that most people haven’t even heard of.  I will be sticking to my own dietary guidelines (gluten-free) and preferences (vegetarian), but will try to incorporate flavors and styles of cooking that I am unfamiliar with.  For each ingredient, I will do some research to determine a common dish utilizing the ingredient.  I will also come up with my own recipe that uses the ingredient.  I’ll post both recipes with pictures and my opinions of each.  I promise to be honest.  If it looks like vomit, you will see pictures of it in all of its glory.  If it tastes like crap and I pour it in the trash, I’ll let you know.  I am hoping that at least some of these dishes will be amazing though!  My first challenge ingredient is fennel.  I have heard of fennel but honestly have no clue what it is.  I did a quick Google image search to make sure that I will be able to find it at the grocery store.  I’m going grocery shopping tomorrow so come back to hear all about some wonderful(?) dishes featuring fennel!

Happy eating!

-c

4 Comments

  1. Kendra said,

    February 25, 2012 at 12:26 AM

    Hey Caroline!

    I had a fennel/watercress soup once (sounds icky I know) at one of the restaurants downtown that was AMAZING! Also, I have a recipe for pizza crust using cauliflower, so its gluten free. I thought you may be interested in trying it out. I’m not sure about the toppings the recipe calls for (sauce etc) but I know you’ll top it w/ some delicious veggies 🙂

    -Kendra

  2. Kendra said,

    February 25, 2012 at 12:27 AM

    Sorry, heres the link for the pizza crust..

    http://www.eat-drink-smile.com/2011/04/cauliflower-crust-pizza.html

  3. critchie103 said,

    February 25, 2012 at 9:03 AM

    That looks amazing! I will be trying this ASAP! I have tried gluten-free pizza dough mixes and they definitely leave something to be desired!

    -Caroline

  4. Kendra said,

    February 26, 2012 at 11:40 AM

    Let me know how you like it! i haven’t had time to do it yet.. I’ve gone back to eating meat only 1-2x max a week and reducing the grain content of my diet.. it just makes me feel more energetic so I go with it 🙂 Here is a helpful blog one of my GF friends uses.. http://www.glutenfreecat.com/ She does a lot of raw, vegan, and vegetarian recipes too.. So I figured it may have some ideas for you to bounce off of. 🙂 -K


Leave a Reply

