Cornbread Muffins=NOM!

Hello everyone!  First off, let me warn you that this post is not about my fennel challenge.  I’m working on that, I promise.  In the meantime, I wanted to share an amazingly easy yet delicious recipe for gluten-free cornbread that I have made several times over the past few months.

First off, I want to clarify some common misconceptions about gluten-free eating/living.

1.  Gluten is everywhere.  It is naturally found in wheat, barley, and rye but is used in many other foods, household products, makeup, etc.  Shopping feels like a scavenger hunt.  Often times I get sick and can’t even figure out what it is that got me.  Some products labeled “gluten-free” give me severe symptoms and this is quite common among people with celiac disease.  Don’t assume that as long as we don’t eat bread or pasta, we will be fine.  Please don’t be offended when we won’t eat your cooking (even if you swear it is gluten-free) and please don’t act like we are being overly-dramatic (because we’re not).  Being sick is just not worth it.

2.  Gluten-free menus at restaurants are not safe.   Gluten proteins can stick to any porous surface and be a source of contamination, regardless of how many times that utensil has been washed.  After diagnosis, celiacs are encouraged to replace many cooking utensils, specifically cutting boards, serated knives, strainers, and any pots and pans that could contain scratches.  It’s nice that people are becoming more aware but, unfortunately, these people are also grossly misinformed.

All of my recipes on this blog and others’ recipes that I share will be gluten-free or adapted to be made gluten-free.  I will let you know what brands of products I use, but remember that not all celiacs are the same and just because I don’t react to something, doesn’t mean that you won’t either.  Also, there may be brands of products that give me symptoms that you may tolerate just fine.

A few months ago, after about 6 months of gluten-free eating, I was really craving some sort of bread.  Bread baking, especially gluten-free bread baking, terrifies me though and there are so many types of gluten-free flours on the market now.  I found a cornbread recipe that only uses one type of gluten-free flour (most baking requires combinations of all sorts of expensive and unfamiliar flours).  I thought that this could be my first attempt at gluten-free baking.  Luckily, this recipe worked out perfectly the first time and I have gone back to it many times since!  I found this recipes from Gluten Free Mommy (http://glutenfreemommy.com/gluten-free-cornbread/) and slightly adapted it to what I had on hand.

Ingredients for one 9-inch diameter pan or 10-12 normal-sized muffins:

1 cup rice flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill Organic Whole Grain Brown Rice Flour)

3/4 cup cornmeal (I used Hodgson Mill Old Fashioned Yellow Cornmeal)

2-3 Tbs sugar (I used 2 Tbs because I like to eat my cornbread with some honey!)

2.5 tsp baking powder (I used Clabber Girl brand)

3/4 tsp salt

2 beaten eggs

1 cup milk

1/4 cup melted butter (Land O’ Lakes, salted)

1.  Mix dry ingredients (rice flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, and salt) in a large bowl.

2.  Beat eggs in a separate bowl and add milk.  Mix.  Melt butter and add to egg/milk mixture.  Mix again.

3.  Pour egg/milk/butter mixture into bowl with dry ingredients.

4.  Stir until all dry ingredients are completely moistened.

5.  Transfer to a pan either coated with butter or sprayed with cooking spray or oil (I used my Misto to coat with extra virgin olive oil).  Don’t fill the pan too full or you will have a mess when the cornbread rises slightly.

6.  Bake at 400 degrees Fahrenheit.  Depending on oven and pan size, these could take anywhere from 15-30 minutes.  Once tops are slightly browned and a fork comes out clean, they are done.

These are best eaten warm out of the oven with some honey!  For a little kick, add a diced, raw jalapeno to the batter before cooking.  I enjoyed these tonight with some leftover vegetarian chili!

Happy eating!

-c

Leave a Reply

