Eggah

Good evening!  Today, I want to share my second fennel recipe!   This recipe utilizes the fennel bulb, which is the most commonly eaten portion of the plant.  The entire fennel plant is edible, however, as the stalks are often used to prepare soup or stock and the leaves are sometimes used in spreads or dips.  Supposedly, the bitter, celery-like stalks can grow up to 5 feet tall!  The one I bought wasn’t nearly as tall but was still bigger than I expected!  The raw fennel bulb,at the base of the plant, has an aroma similar to licorice but cooking seemed to subdue the flavor quite a bit and left it tasting very mild (not nearly as pungent as onion).

I used the fennel bulb to provide flavor and texture to eggah, a Middle Eastern dish that is similar to quiche but without a crust.  I don’t like eggs and really don’t know why I decided to make this particular dish when the fennel bulb is so versatile and can be used for so many different things.

The entire fennel plant. This one was NOT 5 feet tall!

Ingredients for an 8-inch diameter eggah:

4 whole eggs

1 fennel bulb

1/2 a large zucchini

1 cup spinach (I used frozen)

olive oil (to saute vegetables)

1 Tbs butter

spices to taste (I used salt, garlic powder, chili powder, and freshly ground pepper)

Directions:

1.  Cut the fennel stalk away from the bulb and peel off the outermost layer of the bulb.  Cut the remainder of the bulb into pieces as you would an onion.

2.  Saute the fennel bulb in olive oil (add spices while the fennel is cooking) until it becomes more translucent and soft.

3.  Add diced zucchini and spinach and saute until cooked.  Add more olive oil as needed.

4.  Beat 4 eggs in a large bowl.  Add more spices to the beaten eggs.

5.  Melt butter and pour into a 8″ round baking pan to coat the bottom and edges.

6.  Add the sauteed veggies to the beaten eggs.  Stir gently and pour into the baking pan.

7.  Cover with foil and bake at 325 degrees Fahrenheit for 30 minutes.

8.  Remove foil and bake for another 15-30 minutes (until eggs are as cooked as you want them to be).

Cooked eggah

The taste of this dish was pretty great and I liked having the crunchy texture of the sauteed fennel bulb, but I’m still not too keen on eggs! I was going to layer sliced sweet potatoes in the eggah for something different (I think having a different color in there would have made it appear nicer too!) but decided at the last minute to make sweet potato fries as a side dish instead!   This dish was really simple to make and you can incorporate as few or as many ingredients as you like!  Will I make this dish again?  Probably not.  Will I use fennel bulb again in other dishes?  Definitely.  This was a fun week of trying a new ingredient and I can’t wait to share with you next week’s special ingredient!

Delicious dinner (I still don't like eggs)!

Happy eating!

-c

Leave a Reply

