Twice cooked (once baked) potatoes

Good evening!  I hope everyone has been enjoying the amazing weather (and if you’re somewhere that hasn’t had nice weather, I’m sorry)!  It has been sunny and in the mid-70s here the past two days and the next two days are going to be even warmer!  I’m really looking forward to another run outside tomorrow evening with my running group!  Running around Richmond, Virginia has proven to be quite entertaining.  I have seen some interesting things/characters (i.e. a man with a dread-locked mullet, tie-dyed poodles, etc.). During one of my runs, someone had the nerve to stop me and ask if they could have a cigarette.  Yes, I just so happened to fill up my Spi-belt with cigarettes (insert sarcasm here).

After a nice run the other day, my husband and I could not figure out what to have for dinner.  I wanted something really rich and filling!  We decided to make twice-baked potatoes!  I’m not a huge fan of potatoes (except for sweet potatoes) but doesn’t everyone eat baked potatoes for the toppings anyway?  To make this meal quickly (I was hungry!), I actually microwaved the potatoes instead of baking them to get them soft. Works just as well and it will save you at least half an hour.

Ingredients (for two):

Two medium baking potatoes

3-4 Tbs sour cream (Daisy is gluten-free)

1.5 Tbs butter (Land O’ Lakes, salted)

1/3 cup fresh scallions

1/3 cup sliced or grated cheese (Kraft Natural Extra Sharp Cheddar)

Milk (I used at least half a cup but use as much as you need until the potatoes are as creamy as you want them)

Directions:

1.  Wash potatoes and poke holes in them with a fork.  Wrap in a damp paper towel.

2.  Microwave on high for 5-10 minutes until soft.

3.  Cut potatoes in half (lengthwise) and let cool for a few minutes.

4.  Scoop out flesh into a large bowl.  Try to keep the skins intact.

5.  Add the butter, milk, and sour cream.  Mash/stir until potatoes are creamy.  Add some of the cheese and scallions (leave the remainder to use as garnish).

6.  This is where I intended to add salt, pepper, and garlic powder (but I got too excited and forgot!).

7.  Scoop the mashed potato filling into the potato skins and add the remaining cheese and scallions on top.

8.  Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 20-25 minutes (until everything is warm and cheese on top is melted).

Image

I planned to just put the salt, pepper, and garlic powder on top after baking, but they tasted great as is, so I just skipped that altogether.  You could replace the sour cream with greek yogurt and cut down on the butter if you want.

I have to make these again soon!  Amazing!  Enjoy the rest of the week and get outside if you can!

Happy eating!

-c

1 Comment

  1. Walt Ritchie said,

    March 13, 2012 at 9:12 PM

    Looks delicious


Leave a Reply

