When Life Hands You Lemons…

While most people are probably craving Guinness or other ethanol-containing beverages today, I woke up craving lemonade.  Real lemonade.  So, I bought a little juicing device, some lemons, and a cheap plastic pitcher.

Lemonade supplies bought especially for today's craving.

Strawberry lemonade was a success!  Once the lemonade was chilling in the refrigerator, I went out for a nice 9-mile run!  I hadn’t intended to run that far (in fact, I had planned to do strength training at the gym), but it was just too nice to be cooped up in a smelly gym.  It was pretty warm outside and fresh, cold lemonade was exactly what I needed afterwards!

Post-run deliciousness!

Strawberry Lemonade

Ingredients:

5 whole lemons

roughly 10 fresh or frozen strawberries  (but use as many as you like)

1/3 cup Stevia Extract In The Raw

Water (up to 64 ounces)

Directions:

1.  Cut lemons in half and juice.

2.  Dice (fresh) or mash (frozen) strawberries.

3.  Add lemon juice, strawberries, and stevia to a pitcher.

4.  Fill to 64 ounces and put in the refrigerator.

My husband and I also went to Lowe’s to get supplies to start a back (or front) porch container garden.  My herb garden is doing really well so I decided it was time to go a little bit bigger.

The first successful plants of my life (I have killed a cactus...)

I wanted to grow just a few plants and only ones that would benefit me even if it the amount of food produced isn’t huge!  I decided to try Roma tomatoes and a hot pepper blend!  My husband got excited at Lowe’s and decided that he wanted his own plant.  I don’t know anything about gardening but I did read that if you have plants in a windowsill or on a porch, facing south will maximize the amount of sunlight they get!  We have a back porch that we really don’t use for anything facing south and a nice front porch facing north.  My husband decided to grow garlic and he is determined that the front porch is better for sunlight (there is no roof) so our container gardening has now become a bit competitive.  We both used 5-gallon buckets and the same potting soil.  After doing all the work on the back porch, my husband picked up his garlic-containing bucket and said to it “alright, garlic children, I will transport you to the front porch where the winning plants live”, while I set up my plants in the corner of the back porch that was receiving plentiful sunlight.

Back porch container garden (Roma tomatoes and hot peppers)

We’ll have to wait and see which porch yields the most fruitful plants!  Now I’m off to sip some lemonade and read a book out on the porch….and try to ignore all the drunk idiots on the streets (the downfall of living right next to several bars)!  Have a safe and wonderful St. Patrick’s Day!

Happy eating!

-c

Leave a Reply

