A very Cinco-de-Mayo St. Patrick’s Day

epic (adjective):

3.  heroic; majestic; impressively great

(Ex:  Last night’s dinner was epic!)

First off, Mexican food is the best thing ever!  I could eat it every single day and never get sick of it.  The spicy, fresh flavors, abundant vegetables, and simplicity make for the perfect meal!  My cilantro has been growing like crazy, so we decided to make some Mexican food to use some of it up.  Enchiladas were calling my name.  Store-bought corn tortillas are tasteless and rubbery so I decided to try making my own!  All it requires is some masa harina (lime-treated corn flour) and water.  I bought a huge bag of the stuff (I think the brand is called “Maseca”) from the ethnic section of my local Kroger for around $3.00 and it SEEMED to be gluten-free and, luckily, I didn’t suffer any consequences from eating it!  I made about 12 corn tortillas for the total price of $0.25-$0.50.  Can’t beat that!

Masa harina

I didn’t actually follow the directions on the back of the bag.  This stuff seemed to be for tamales, but it appeared to be plain old masa harina, so I just reconstituted the flour with water (1 + 3/4 cups masa harina with 1 + 1/8 cups warm water) and it worked just fine and I had dough left over. I mixed the dough and kneaded it on a large cutting board, wrapped it with plastic wrap, and let it sit at room temperature for 30-45 minutes.  I then rolled it out on parchment paper, and heated each side in a skillet on high/medium heat for about 30 seconds.

Corn tortillas!

I stuffed the corn tortillas with a mix of sautéed onion, zucchini, red bell pepper, and poblano pepper, mixed with a small amount of black beans we had left over.

Vegetables!

I also made homemade salsa (see recipe below) and my awesome queso (fool-proof recipe coming soon) and added some of that in there too!  The enchiladas were layered in a baking dish and the leftover vegetable stuffing, salsa, and queso was poured over the top.  I covered the enchiladas and baked at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for about 30 minutes (just enough to get them all warm and melty).  I then stuffed them in my face!

I'm not shy about eating...

Homemade salsa (party size):

Ingredients:

5 small/medium tomatoes (I used the “on-the-vine” type, but others may work even better?)

1 jalapeno pepper

1 head of garlic

½ white onion

Olive oil (enough to coat vegetables)

Fresh cilantro (10-15 leaves)

~1 Tbs lime juice

~1 tsp cumin

~1/2 tsp salt

 

Directions:

1.  Prepare vegetables for baking/broiling.

a.  Peel onion and cut into ~1/2” thick rings.

b.  Cut jalapeno into thick slices (I removed about half of the seeds at this point because I didn’t want it TOO spicy).

c.  Remove cores from tomatoes.

d.  Peel garlic head and cut off the tip of one end.

2.  Lay tomatoes, onion, jalapeno, and garlic in baking dish and cover with a small amount of olive oil.

3.  Bake at 400 degrees Fahrenheit until veggies are soft and slightly browned (I think broiling would probably work better here).  This took maybe 20 minutes and I flipped once.

4.  Add cilantro and garlic to a food processor and process until well-chopped.

5.  Add about 1/2 or 3/4 of the tomatoes (I kept the skins on), the onion, and the jalapeno and pulse until chopped (if you want less juicy salsa, I would try to remove some of the tomato seeds before processing).

6.  Remove the skin from the remaining tomato(es), coarsely dice, and add to the salsa (just to make it chunkier).

7.  Add cumin, salt, and lime juice and stir.

8.  Taste and add more spices as needed.

Fresh and spicy salsa!

While the enchiladas were baking, I decided that this meal required margaritas.  My husband ran to the store and the enchiladas were ready right as he got home.  And that was our Cinco de Mayo-themed St. Patrick’s Day dinner (the margaritas were green!).  I’ll share my margarita recipe soon but I think it is WAY too sweet and I plan to try to make a more from-scratch variety that is lower in sugar next time.  We had leftovers for dinner tonight and they were just as tasty reheated in the microwave.  Unfortunately, no more margaritas.

Happy eating!

-c

 

2 Comments

  1. March 25, 2012 at 8:05 AM

    […] our main dish, we had fried egg tacos (on homemade corn tortillas) with lettuce, tomato, avocado, and feta. […]

  2. May 20, 2012 at 8:14 AM

    […] our main dish, we had fried egg tacos (on homemade corn tortillas) with lettuce, tomato, avocado, and feta. […]


Leave a Reply

