Strawberry Basil Smoothie

I tend to go through phases when it comes to breakfast.  When I was in middle/high school, I could put down some serious food first thing in the morning.  It was by far my favorite meal of the day!  Gradually, as life got busier, my breakfasts became smaller and smaller.  I would always regret not eating breakfast when my stomach started growling by 9:00 and I was too busy to eat until lunchtime.  It took some time, but I gradually have built up to eating a substantial breakfast again.  The best way for me to ease back into breakfast was with smoothies because you can make them as low calorie or as high calorie as you want.  Last summer, I would have a smoothie pretty much every single morning. They started off with just a banana, soy milk, and ice.  Now I have had pumpkin with nutmeg, mango, peach, berries, pretty much everything but the kitchen sink.  Then it got cold outside and all I could eat was a warm bowl of oats (Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free) with lots of toppings.  I ate that pretty much every single day in December and January.  February and early March was an open-faced fried egg sandwich and some Greek yogurt with berries.  I made this breakfast yesterday and, as I was sitting down eating, all I could think about was how delicious a smoothie would have been (this is clearly a sign that Spring is here!).  So, this morning I pulled out the blender and made a delicious Strawberry Basil smoothie!  I had this with a piece of leftover corn bread and a slice of cheddar cheese (both separate from the smoothie)!  I love having a breakfast worth looking forward to, even if the combination is slightly unusual!

Strawberry Basil smoothie (makes about 20-24 ounces?)

Ingredients:

¾ cup milk (I used Silk Vanilla)

¼ cup water

1 frozen banana

½ cup Greek yogurt (I’ve been eating Kroger brand with no gluten-related problems)

8-10 small/medium strawberries

2 large leaves of basil

A few pieces of ice

Directions:

1.  Throw everything in a blender and blend.

2.  Drink.

Are basil leaves always this big?!?

It doesn’t get much easier than that.  I could definitely taste the basil and I think the amount I used was about perfect so that it was not overpowering.  I feel like including the basil added a touch of sophistication to this simple breakfast.

One day I will take more exciting pictures!

Tomorrow, I am going to make a chocolate/peanut butter smoothie.  I might even throw in some kale.  I’m already excited!

Happy eating!

-c

5 Comments

  1. Danny said,

    March 22, 2012 at 8:23 PM

    You just happen to have the most perfect basil leaves ever — very nice 🙂

    • critchie103 said,

      March 22, 2012 at 8:30 PM

      Thank you! My gardening is a work in progress, but these two leaves were just begging to be eaten!

      • Danny said,

        March 22, 2012 at 8:43 PM

        You must be in a warmer climate to have basil already — just getting the itch to start planting here in Chicago 🙂

  2. Mary E. Warner said,

    March 29, 2012 at 4:39 AM

    The photo couldn’t be much more exciting–a BENDY glass. Pretty nifty. I’m a cousin of your hubby’s through his mom…

    • critchie103 said,

      March 30, 2012 at 8:26 PM

      Hi! Nice to (web)-meet you! Bendy glasses are very fun to drink out of, but not quite as fun to wash!


Leave a Reply

