Mama P’s No-Bake Cookies (gluten-free and vegan optional)

Ugh!  I am suffering from gluten-related symptoms for the third straight day now.  I don’t have the slightest idea of what got me.  I have my normal symptoms of upset stomach, headache, and achy arms, in addition to feeling incredibly lethargic.  Awesome!  I really want to go to the gym and get some lifting in today, but we’ll see.  Sometimes getting in a good sweat actually helps!

I have some awesome recipe ideas to try out this weekend and plan to start incorporating some bean- and/or quinoa-based salads into my meal rotation.  I just can’t stomach soup and chili when it starts to get warm outside!  Speaking of, we finally bit the bullet and turned on the air conditioner last night.  We have had the air/heat turned off and just kept the windows open for the past two weeks, but it has gotten so hot in our apartment.  I have had trouble sleeping and have even gotten up at night to put a cold wash cloth on my face or stand out on the back porch for a few minutes.  It IS still March, right?

In honor of the crazy warm weather everyone has been having, I want to share my mother-in-law’s no-bake cookie recipe!  Without baking, you won’t have to worry about your oven radiating heat into your already unseasonably-warm home!  And you can make these things in about five minutes, you probably already have all the ingredients on hand, and they can be made gluten-free and/or vegan with a few simple substitutions!

This recipe is for the full batch (enough to snack on for awhile or to share with friends) and will probably make 20-25 small/medium cookies.  The brands I use to ensure gluten-free status are shown in parenthesis.  FYI, Hershey brand cocoa powder has given me pretty severe gluten-related symptoms but I haven’t had any issues with the Kroger brand.

Mama P’s No-Bake Cookies

Ingredients:

1/2 cup milk (Kroger brand, 1%)
1 stick butter or margarine (Land O’ Lakes, salted)
4 Tbsp. cocoa powder (Kroger brand)
2 cups sugar (Kroger brand, granulated)
1/2 cup peanut butter (Smucker’s Natural, creamy)
2 cups quick cooking oats (Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Old-Fashioned Rolled Oats)
1 tsp vanilla (Frontier, organic)

Directions:

  1. Combine milk, butter, cocoa powder, and sugar in a small pot and bring to a slow boil.
  2. Let boil for 1.5-2 minutes (be careful not to burn, but if you don’t boil for long enough the cookies won’t harden at all).
  3. Immediately remove pot from heat and add remaining ingredients.
  4. Stir for a few seconds.
  5. Drop by spoonfuls onto wax paper and let cool.

No-bake chocolate deliciousness!

The smaller you make these, the faster they harden.  I made these way too big so they didn’t get quite as hard as we hoped (we basically ate them with a spoon).  Next time I will probably scoop these into a muffin tin and refrigerate to harden.  Very simple and delicious!

Happy eating!

-c

Leave a Reply

