Not-So-Sugary Margaritas

Another evening of amazing, homemade Mexican food!  It never gets old!  My husband and I got hooked on Mexican food, okay Tex-Mex food, while living in Dallas.  There are so many good Mexican restaurants there, it is impossible to pick a favorite.  Chuy’s was awesome with their chip bar (located in the trunk of a car) including unlimited queso and vegetarian refried beans, their jalapeno ranch dip, and amazing salsa.  Gloria’s was awesome for their black bean dip and ridiculously strong, $3 happy-hour margaritas.  We cooked really lame Mexican food on occasion at home (just tacos with canned vegetarian refried beans in pre-made flour tortillas), but always went out when we wanted something amazing.  After my celiac diagnosis, we started using black beans, Ortega brand hard corn taco shells, and grated our own cheese.  We also found a recipe for gluten-free margaritas.  The recipe calls for an entire can of Minutemaid limeade (per blender pitcher), which I always found to be way too sweet and those margaritas were never so great on the blood sugar levels.  Lately we have cooked more interesting Mexican food at home and last night’s meal included a lower sugar margarita that was really good.  As my husband said, “It’s definitely margarita-flavored and we didn’t have any of that sugar shit”.  Exactly.  He would have liked it more if we had made frozen margaritas (usually I prefer these too) but for someone reason I was really craving one on the rocks.

 

Not-So-Sugary Margaritas

Ingredients:

4 limes

¼ cup Stevia In The Raw Cup for Cup

Tequila (vary amount depending on how rough your day was)

Triple Sec (I use about 1/3 the amount of triple sec as I do tequila)

A splash or two of orange juice

About as much water as I used lime juice (or you could just add more ice, but my tequila, triple sec, and orange juice were already cold)

Ice

Sprinkle of salt

 

I juiced the limes and put all the ingredients in a pitcher with some ice.  I added water until the taste seemed about right (tasting margaritas during preparation is half the fun!) and stuck in the fridge for a few minutes until dinner was ready.

 

We also made some spicy black bean dip to eat with Santitas brand corn chips!

Our black bean dip was inspired by this recipe.

 

Nom-Nom Black Bean Dip (yes, that is what I’m calling it)

Ingredients:

About half an onion

3 cloves minced garlic

Olive oil (for sautéing onion and garlic)

½ cup picante sauce (we used Pace, hot)

Cooked black beans (about 1 or 1.5 normal sized cans worth, but we actually used leftovers from last night that we prepared from dry beans)

5-10 leaves of cilantro

Splash of lime juice

Cumin

Chili powder

¼ cup grated cheddar cheese (Kraft Naturals, Extra Sharp)

 

Directions:

  1. Cut up the onion and mince the garlic.  Put in a pot and saute in olive oil.
  2. Add picante sauce and put heat on low.
  3. Process or mash the black beans and add to the pot.  I used my mortar and pestle so that I would have better control over the consistency, as I prefer my dips chunkier.
  4. Add cumin, chili powder, lime juice, and cilantro.
  5. Add grated cheese and stir until completely melted.

 

You can call me Senorita!

This was really spicy and awesome!  I actually liked it better than the black bean dip at Gloria’s because I kept the black beans chunkier and I have a sneaking suspicion that Gloria’s black bean dip may contain lard (ew).  My husband loved it too!

For our main dish, we had fried egg tacos (on homemade corn tortillas) with lettuce, tomato, avocado, and feta.

Yum!

Happy eating!

-c

1 Comment

  1. April 29, 2012 at 12:33 PM

    […] also made frozen strawberry margaritas!  The recipe was very similar to the last margaritas I made except for making them frozen  and adding in about 8-10 […]


Leave a Reply

