They see me rollin’…

…My segway sport-hybrid bicycle…

Nice and sweaty!

I bought a bike today!  I haven’t ridden a bike in years, but with the beautiful weather, horrible gas prices, and overall bike-friendliness of Richmond, I decided it was time to invest in one!  I went after work today and picked up the bike I decided on just yesterday.  I nervously took it for a ride in a very low-traffic area and went 5.3 miles.  My husband was relieved when I made it home in one piece and I was able to talk him into a quick 2-mile run around the neighborhood.  Not bad considering I didn’t think I would have time to work out at all today!  And perhaps there may be a duathlon in my future?

In other news, I’ve been trying to eat a little better these past few days.  Too many unhealthy snacks lately!  I made a delicious lentil salad last weekend that I ate off of for several days!  It was tasty and filling, but not heavy at all–exactly what I needed!  I think it could use a few more spices, but putting a bit of Feta cheese on top really added a lot!

 

Lentil Salad

Ingredients:

1.5 cups dried lentils

1 bell pepper

½ purple onion

1 tomato (seeds removed)

olive oil (a little bit)

red wine vinegar (a lot)

parsley (I added at least 15 fresh leaves)

Salt (to taste)

Garlic powder (to taste)

Black pepper (to taste)

 

Directions:

  1. Sort lentils (i.e. check for rocks or other debris.).  I always thought this was weird but for the first time ever, I actually did find a twig in my bag this time.
  2. Bring lentils to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer.
  3. Let simmer 20-25 minutes (I cooked mine until they were just soft and not as long as I would cook them for a soup or stew so they would remain intact).
  4. Remove from heat and drain water.
  5. Saute onion and bell pepper until slightly soft and add to lentils.
  6. Add tomato, oil, vinegar, and spices.
  7. Refrigerate.

Perfect springtime food!

Serve cold and add Feta cheese for some extra flavor!  Add whatever veggies/spices you want to mix it up!  I’ll be making many variations of this dish in the near future!  I am trying to remember to actually measure/record amounts of ingredients, but I often forget and just throw a bunch of stuff together until it tastes good.  That is the fun of cooking though!

Happy eating!

-c

Leave a Reply

