A Hidden Gem

Don’t you just love it when you discover a hidden gem right in your neighborhood?  Down the street from my apartment, there are several small lakes with sidewalks for running, roads for cycling, and an abundance of waterfowl for shitting admiring.  Okay, that’s pretty cool.  But if you go a bit further, past the large earthen mound that I only recently bothered to look behind, there is something even greater.  This thing is the Vita Trail!  It’s a path roughly one mile long with stations along the way for push-ups, pull-ups, monkey bars, etc.  My first sighting of the Vita Trail brought about memories of my childhood hopes and dreams. The dream—to become an American Gladiator!

I spent several summers as a child training to become an American Gladiator. I attempted (and never actually succeeded in) one-armed push-ups, did flips over couch cushions, and made obstacle courses out in the woods.  I knew that if I worked hard enough, I too could be freakishly muscular and perform ridiculous stunts on an even more ridiculous television show.  Unfortunately, American Gladiators was cancelled in 1996, and I was forced to settle for another dream.

Today I hit up the Vita Trail for the first time to do some interval training that included sprints, strides, recovery pace running, obstacles, push-ups, and jumping jacks.  That workout left me feeling way more exhausted than a 10-mile run ever could!  And I pretended to be an American Gladiator the entire time!  After my workout, I was looking into the old television show and found out that a new version of the show started in 2008.  What?!?!  It appears as if that show was cancelled too!  So sad.  My memories of that television show will be with me every time I run on the Vita Trail for now on!  And I am still working on that one-armed push-up…

Happy eating (and gladiator-ing)!

-c

 

Leave a Reply

