How (Not) To Make Zucchini Chips

I have an obsession with salt and vinegar potato chips.  I will eat them until my tongue is raw and I no longer have functioning taste buds.  They are salty, tangy, crispy, and perfect.  Also, my husband doesn’t like them so I don’t have to share. [Insert evil laugh here.]  I decided to try making salt and vinegar zucchini chips as a healthier way to satisfy my obsession.  I thought I was being really creative until a quick internet search made me realize that many others came up with this idea long before I did.  Without a food dehydrator, I decided to use the oven method.  Basically, you put your thinly-sliced zucchini on a pan and stick in a very low heat oven for several hours.  I wanted to set my oven somewhere around 125°F, but the lowest temperature my oven can be set to is 170°F.  Oh well.  That just means they will dehydrate faster, right?  (Nope.)

Directions for preparing zucchini:

I thinly sliced an entire zucchini squash with a mandoline.  I put the slices in a bowl with some white vinegar (other people seem to use apple cider vinegar, but I didn’t have that on hand) diluted with water (one cup water for every one cup vinegar).  I put the bowl in the refrigerator for a few hours to let the zucchini slices soak up some of the vinegar.

Potent!

After soaking, I poured off the dilute vinegar, patted the zucchini slices dry with a paper towel, rubbed both sides of each slice with a tiny amount of olive oil, and sprinkled with salt.  They were laid out on a baking sheet and baked at 170°F for about two and a half hours until they looked completely dried out.

Time to bake!

Then I attempted to scrape them off of the pan with a spatula.

Oops.

The higher oven temperature led to a complete baking of the zucchini onto the pan and I don’t think more olive oil would have helped.  There were a few zucchini chips that could be loosened from the pan and I enjoyed those (although they were a bit too salty).

I had a few to taste!

I’m going to be trying these again, but might wait until I purchase a food dehydrator.  I have wanted a dehydrator for a long time, and the zucchini chip failure might be a sign that it is time to invest in one.  Until then, I will just have to keep eating potato chips.  Darn!

Happy eating!

-c

1 Comment

  1. brthomas said,

    August 16, 2012 at 6:43 PM

    Hopefully you have your own food dehydrator now. I like spicy hot zucchini chips made by adding liquid sauces to the zucchini slices before drying.


Leave a Reply

