I would like to buy a sailboat!

Where did spring go?  The weather is like this today…

I am NOT a fan!

…so I’ve been in pajamas and sipping coffee since noon.  Yesterday, my husband and I took a road trip to Yorktown, Virginia to meet up with his mom, uncle, and grandma.  We walked around for awhile and had a nice sailboat ride on the York River (right at the mouth of the Chesapeake Bay).

The Alliance!

 

I'm thinking that a sailboat might be a good investment.

We were lucky the weather was so nice (sunny and in the lower 80s)!

Pretty plant near the beach.

There is a sunken Revolutionary War battleship right at the end of the pier!

I brought a big bag of snacks to keep me going all day.  Leaving the comfort of my home for a day is really stressful because I can’t just stop anywhere for food.  When we moved from Dallas to Richmond back in November, we had to bring a ton of food for the 3-day drive.  We made some lentil stew to pack in a cooler (we stayed in a hotel with a microwave the first night), a giant box of Lara bars, a 3-pound bag of apples, a bunch of bananas, Udi’s muffins, and almonds.  We even packed up a pot and pan in case we needed to make food the second night when we stayed with my parents.  I did a similar thing for our road trip yesterday even though we were only going to be gone for 10 hours.

A hungry Caroline = A cranky Caroline

It may have been a bit overkill considering we ate a big breakfast before we left and were going to be back in time for dinner, but I am not a fan of being hungry.

I have been feeling kind of lethargic the past few days, probably due to too much junk food, too many ciders, not enough exercise, and being slightly dehydrated yesterday.  Today’s goal was to eat as many fruits and veggies as possible.  I have had a cup of spinach, a serving of blueberries, a banana, an apple, an orange, a mango, and tomato soup so far today.  On top of that, I had a great workout this morning (5 miles on the stationary bike + 5 miles on the treadmill (7:50/mile pace!), and stretching, so I’m finally starting to feel back to my usual self.  I have also decided to start the 100 push-up challenge again.  Has anyone else ever done this?  You might not be able to do 100 push-ups after the 6 weeks, but you will definitely see improvement quickly.  I did this once before and I progressed from doing 10 consecutive full-body push-ups to 45 in the 4 weeks that I actually kept up with the program.  I did my test today to see how many I could do (with good form) so I will know where to start and I completed 22 push-ups.  I’m going to start the challenge this week.  It’s a great way to motivate yourself to do something that you usually are able to talk yourself out of (for me, this is push-ups).  Plus, it takes less than 10 minutes 3 times a week.  There is also a sit-up challenge, squat challenge, etc.

Tonight we’re making a salad featuring a vegetable I have never tasted before (recipe coming soon) and some gluten-free pasta with extra veggies added in.  I can’t believe the weekend is almost over…and I still have laundry to do!  Off to finish doing the typical weekend life-maintenance chores!

Happy eating!

-c

 

Leave a Reply

