Beet Salad and Gluten-Free Pasta

I made beets last night!  I’m not so sure that I like them.  Neither my husband nor I had ever eaten a beet before, but they are full of antioxidants so we decided to give them a try.  After my first bite, my husband asked what they tasted like.  “Kind of like dirt”, I answered.  I found this salad recipe from The New York Times and it sounded very different from most salads I eat.  I followed the recipe for the most part, using endive, beets, toasted pecans, and Feta cheese.  I also made a dressing similar to what the recipe called for (using olive oil, red wine vinegar, chives, Dijon mustard, black pepper, and garlic powder).  To prepare the beets, I washed them, added a bit of olive oil, wrapped them in a foil pouch, and roasted at 425°F for about an hour (until soft enough to easily pierce with a fork).

Roasted Beets

Roasted beets!

I let them cool for a bit, peeled off the skin (it should come off easily), sliced, and chilled.

We had the salad alongside some gluten free pasta with Newman’s Own pasta sauce (that I beefed up with some extra veggies).

Gluten-free pasta

Tinkyada--one of the better gluten-free pastas I have had!

I added about 2 cups of spinach, some leftover broccoli that had seen better days (it was getting very limp), and some red pepper flakes to give it some spice.

sauce

Newman's Own pasta sauce with some add-ins.

Pasta isn’t one of my favorite things, but it’s nice to have some on hand for those times when you need a quick meal.  Gluten-free pasta is cooked just like regular pasta but it gets sticky and mushy even faster, so be sure not to overcook it.

Pasta with beet salad

A relatively simple dinner!

I would like to try beets again but I think I should marinate them or something to provide more flavor next time.  I also decided that I need to extract some of the beet juice to naturally add color to my next batch of soap!  The pink/purple color of the beets was beautiful!

How do you like your beets?

 

Happy eating!

-c

6 Comments

  1. karenlou said,

    April 23, 2012 at 9:30 PM

    Roasted, diced, and tossed with mixed greens, carmelized onions, baked tofu, and goat cheese in a balsamic vinaigrette. (I lived on this for about three straight weeks in March & early April.)

  2. maggie said,

    April 24, 2012 at 1:08 AM

    i was a beet hater for a long time until i got them just right – peeled, diced into small cubes, tossed in olive oil and roasted at about 400 degrees for 30-40 minutes until soft and carmelized. nature’s candy!! i, like karenlou, like them in a salad with goat cheese. or just on their own.. straight from the oven.. or leftover from the fridge.

    ps, love your blog. i’m very gluten-light in my diet so everything is up my alley!

    • critchie103 said,

      April 24, 2012 at 4:45 AM

      I think the dislike of beets runs in my family. It’s the one food my dad won’t even touch! And my cousin sent me a message after I posted this blog saying that “beets are poison”. I always like to try things several different ways before determining not to ever eat them again, so I will give it another go!

  3. April 24, 2012 at 1:23 PM

    I roast them, slice them and drizzle on balsamic vinegar (or sherry vinegar), a little bit of olive oil and goat cheese. Simple, but really good.

    • critchie103 said,

      April 24, 2012 at 8:26 PM

      Thanks! Goat cheese seems to be the preferred topping by all, so I will definitely try that! Sherry vinegar sounds interesting too…I have never heard of it!


Leave a Reply

