Indian-Inspired Sauce with Tofu

After an awesome weekend and a six-hour drive today, it is good to be back in Richmond!  I was incredibly tired this morning after a late night bowling with the parents.

Four-bagger!!!

Yes, that is me with the 207 bowling score!  Unfortunately, I am a one-hit wonder with my bowling skills, so the other three games didn’t go nearly as well!  We got home late this afternoon, unpacked (kind of), and went grocery shopping.  I was really looking forward to cooking something delicious for dinner and decided to try my hand at an Indian dish.  I have always loved most ethnic cuisines.  I particularly love all of the fresh vegetables and interesting flavors that are used in Indian dishes.  There was this amazing Indian restaurant we used to visit near Dallas that a coworker recommended to me as the real deal.  If you’re ever in the DFW area,  check out Mayuri.  It will blow your mind!  I’ve always wanted to learn to cook Indian food, but the amount of spices used in most dishes intimidates me.  For this dish, I used a spice blend found in the ethnic section of Kroger instead of buying a bunch of different spices that I may never use again.

Indian-Inspired Sauce with Tofu

Ingredients:
Olive oil (to saute vegetables and coat tofu baking pan)
1 (28-ounce) can of diced tomatoes
About 1 cup gluten-free vegetable stock (no salt added)
1 chopped zucchini
About half a chopped onion
About half a chopped bell pepper
2.5 teaspoons spice mix (Sun Brand Madras Curry Powder*)
1 Tablespoon granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspon fennel seeds
1/4 teaspoon freshly-ground black pepper
1 block extra firm tofu

*This spice mix contains coriander seeds, turmeric, chillies, salt, cumin seeds, fennel seeds, black pepper, garlic, ginger, fenugreek, cinnamon, cloves, anise, and mustard.  I added extra of some of those because I felt like it needed a bit more.

Directions:
1. Saute onions, bell pepper, and zucchini in a small amount of olive oil.
2. Add diced tomatoes and vegetable stock and keep heat on low/medium.
3. Add sugar and spices and turn heat to low.  Let simmer on low while tofu is baking.
4. Press liquid out of tofu and cut into cubes or strips.
5. Bake at 375°F for about 15 minutes, flip, and then bake for another 15-20 minutes (I baked mine on aluminum foil that I brushed with olive oil).
6. Once tofu is slightly crispy on the outside but still soft on the inside, remove from oven and add to sauce.
7. Let simmer for 10-15 minutes on low heat.
8. Scoop warm sauce with tofu on top of rice (or your favorite grain) and enjoy!

A post-vacation feast!

We made some plain brown rice in our rice cooker and added the sauce on top!  This was really good but I think I can add more spices and make it even better next time!  I can see this meal becoming a regular in our kitchen!

Happy eating!

-c

3 Comments

  1. May 31, 2012 at 5:15 PM

    I enjoy reading your posts here in Rochester NY (found out about your blog from Mona & Randy). I’m finally catching up on some past ones and noticed this recipe. Since in addition to eating gluten free I also can’t eat tomatoes (acid reflux), I’m going to try it with red peppers instead. I have a recipe that uses a jar of roasted red peppers that you put in a blender to make the sauce. And then add some plain yogurt right at the end. Looking forward to trying it with tofu. Oh, and I did notice you’re at a new address now, so I’ve bookmarked that for future reading.

    • critchie103 said,

      June 1, 2012 at 6:32 AM

      Thanks for reading! Yes, all of my newer and future posts are at the new address. You might like the Thai Noodle recipe (it uses a sauce made from coconut milk, red curry paste, and peanut butter–if the spiciness of the red curry paste doesn’t bother you). The URL for that one is http://www.myspoonisnotbigenough.com/2012/05/23/thai-noodles-with-tofu/. I was recently thinking about trying to make creamy sauces with Greek yogurt, so I will have to try that. Your roasted red pepper sauce sounds great!

      -Caroline

  2. June 1, 2012 at 9:54 AM

    Thanks, I’ll check out that recipe too. The one I have was from our local newspaper (they called it Saucy Curried Chicken). For the sauce you blend one jar of roasted red peppers (drained) with 1 tbsp honey, curry powder (called for 1/2 tsp but I wanted more so put in 2 tsp), and salt and pepper. Stir fry some chicken in olive oil (you can substitute eggplant and veggies like onions, squash, zucchini – we’ve done that and it works well). Once that’s cooked, add 1 can drained chickpeas and the sauce. Once heated through, remove from heat and stir in 1 cup Greek yogurt, serve over rice and top with chopped fresh mint. An easy recipe but really yummy!


Leave a Reply

