Coconut Oil-Fried Eggplant

There is such a stigma associated with fried food–from the giant buckets of fried chicken found at fast food joints, to fried butter at the Texas State Fair (yes, I have tried it), to Super Size french fries that keep getting larger.  I grew up eating fried food.  Not frequently, but often enough that I still have fond memories of biting into my grandma’s fried okra and having the grease ooze out, occasionally dripping down my chin.  I’m also pretty sure we ate fried bologna as kids (this is probably why I became vegetarian).  I have not had fried food in a really long time, due to my not being able to have traditional flour and not enjoying giant hunks of meat.

Tonight, however, I had a grand idea.  I had about half of an eggplant I needed to get rid of and thought the perfect solution would be to slice it and fry it.  This was a “we’ll try it and, if it fails, we’ll find something else to eat” kind of meal.  Luckily, it turned out great!

Coconut Oil-Fried Eggplant

Ingredients (for 2):
About half a peeled eggplant, sliced into discs about 1/4″ thick.
Coconut oil (maybe 1/4 cup?)
1 egg, beaten
1/3 cup brown rice flour
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon basil

Directions:
1. Melt coconut oil by putting jar in a pot with water over medium heat.
2. Peel and slice eggplant.
3. Beat egg in a bowl.
4. In a separate bowl, add flour, garlic powder, oregano, and basil.  Stir to mix.
5. In a large frying pan, add melted coconut oil to cover bottom of pan.  Turn heat to medium/high (if it starts smoking and smelling, turn down the heat a bit).
6. Dip eggplant slices in egg.  Drain off excess. Dip in flour/spice mix to coat.  Place in oiled pan.
7. Let oil bubble until bottom of eggplant is browned.  Flip and cook until brown on both sides.  Add more coconut oil to the pan whenever it starts getting dry.

8. Drain off excess coconut oil from the cooked eggplant slices on to a paper towel.
9. Serve immediately.

This is much better than fried bologna!

Please tell me I wasn’t the only kid who ate fried bologna.  I’m kind of ashamed to admit this, but it was probably my favorite meal from the early ’90s.

 

Happy eating!

-c

Leave a Reply

