A Valuable Lesson

I learned a valuable lesson today.

Don’t run 1.5 miles to the gym (and, therefore, be forced to run 1.5 miles home) for an exercise class if you don’t know all the details about the class.  I decided to go to a spin class today at noon because I really wanted to check out some of the classes at our new gym.  I also wanted to spend time outdoors though, and since we live close to the gym, I thought it would be foolish to drive there.   I ran there, quickly signed up for the class and went in to what I thought was an hour-long class.  I got there and the girl running the class was REALLY intense and the class was actually a 90-minute endurance class for Lance Armstrong-wannabes.  I actually did pretty well but was going a bit slower than I was supposed to toward the end.  The run home was painful and I was inredibly famished.  I had a quick mug of cereal and some peanut butter, showered, then had some more food.

Post-exercise food: cucumber and bell pepper strips with hummus, fresh watermelon and pineapple, and a glass of seltzer water with frozen strawberries as ice cubes!

I made hummus this morning and it is probably one of my best batches so far.  I think it was the veggie broth that made it better.

Roasted Garlic Hummus

Ingredients:
1 bulb of garlic
1 (15.5 oz.) can of chickpeas
4 Tablespoons vegetable broth
3 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon cumin
1/8 teaspoon chili powder
dash of salt

Directions:
1. Roast the bulb of garlic.  Once soft, remove cloves and process.
2. Drain and rinse chickpeas, and add to processor with garlic.
3. Add olive oil and vegetable broth and process until smooth.
4. Add spices.  Process to incorporate the spices.
5. Store in a closed container in the refrigerator.

I really want to spend more time outside today (maybe go for a walk?) but I have a feeling that I’m not going to get up off the couch anytime soon.  In fact, my eyes are starting to glaze over.  I think it’s nap time!

 

Happy eating!

-c

Leave a Reply

