Artichoke and Sweet Potato Au Gratin

I was looking for new recipe inspirations and I came across this artichoke and sweet potato au gratin.  A new way to celebrate my love for sweet potatoes!  I really liked the idea of making a gravy with vegetable stock and processed beans, instead of the usual vegetable stock and flour/starch.  I made only slight modifications to the original recipe and I am sharing the recipe as I made it (see here for the original).

Artichoke and Sweet Potato Au Gratin (Gluten-Free and Vegan)

Ingredients:
2 medium/large sweet potatoes (about 1 pound after peeling and cutting off ends)
2 tomatoes, diced
15 ounces frozen artichoke hearts, chopped
1 (15.5 ounce) can of cannellini beans
½ cup vegetable stock
1 bunch of scallions, chopped
1 teaspoon dried oregano
½ teaspoon garlic powder
½ teaspoon black pepper
¼ teaspoon salt

Directions:
1.  Thaw the artichoke hearts and coarsely chop.
2.  In a bowl, add chopped artichokes, 2 diced tomatoes, half a bunch of chopped scallions, ½ teaspoon oregano, ¼ teaspoon garlic powder, and ¼ teaspoon black pepper.  Set aside.

Yum! Haven’t had artichokes for a long time!

3.  Drain and rinse beans and add to food processor.
4.  To make the gravy, process with vegetable broth, ¼ teaspoon oregano, ¼ teaspoon garlic powder, ¼ teaspoon black pepper, and ¼ teaspoon salt until smooth.
5.  Peel 2 raw sweet potatoes and slice into 1/8” thick discs.
6.  Spoon about ¼ of the gravy into the bottom of a baked dish to cover surface.
7.  Lay a single layer of potato discs, then scoop vegetable mixture on top of potatoes.
8.  Add more gravy and repeat layers (I made 3 total layers).
9.  Sprinkle remaining ¼ teaspoon oregano on top.
10.  Bake covered at 375°F for 45 minutes.

Hot out of the oven.

11.  Garnish with chopped scallions and serve.

I  intended to add chopped walnuts to the top as the original recipe  called for but, in the excitement of trying a new recipe, I completely forgot!  I guess that makes it not really “au gratin”, but that’s okay.  This dish was really different.  I liked it okay, but I thought it was a little heavy on the oregano (and I used less than what the original called for) and could have used a bit more flavor.  I will probably try this again at some point with some modifications because, overall, it was a really interesting dish that has potential to be even better.

I have plans to do some more cooking today, in addition to making a batch of soap (hopefully my first batch to sell), and going for a run outside.   Enjoy your Sunday!

Happy eating!

-c

1 Comment

  1. sybaritica said,

    May 27, 2012 at 3:05 PM

    That looks lovely!


Leave a Reply

