Deep Dish Veggie Pot Pie (with Gluten-Free Crust)

I am a huge fan of one-dish meals.  Especially one-dish meals that are incredibly satisfying.  I made my first veggie pot pie a long time ago using pre-made pie crusts.  I would get the two-pack of crusts in foil pie pans and use one as the base and, for the top, I would thaw out the other crust, remove the dough from the foil pan, and reshape to lay on top.  I finally decided it was time to bring back an old favorite and wanted to try my hand at making a homemade gluten-free pie crust.   I needed a recipe, as I am nowhere near knowledgeable enough about baking to come up with my own recipe!  I found this relatively-simple recipe and I actually had most of the ingredients.  I made several modifications, but only ones that I felt somewhat confident about trying!  I also doubled the recipe when I noticed I only had a giant 3-inch deep, 10-inch diameter round pan!  After realizing how large of a pot pie this would make, I searched for the world’s largest pot pie and, unfortunately, if I plan to beat that, I’m going to need a MUCH larger pan!  The record, set in 1995, was a 22,100-pound pot pie made by Kentucky Fried Chicken!  The pot pie was 12 feet in diameter and 4 feet deep!

Deep Dish Veggie Pot Pie (serves 6)

Ingredients for crust:
1 ½ cups brown rice flour
½ cup cornstarch
4 Tablespoons tapioca flour
1 teaspoon xanthan gum
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon garlic powder
12 Tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into chunks*
1 egg
2 teaspoons lemon juice

*Yes, that is a LOT of butter.  Figuratively speaking, a little part of me died while preparing the pot pie.  Literally speaking, a little part of me died while eating the pot pie.  It’s fine.

Ingredients for filling:
24 ounces veggies of your choice (I used a frozen mix of carrots, potatoes, corn, green beans, lima beans, okra, celery, and onion)
2 cups vegetable broth
1 ½ Tablespoons nutritional yeast
½ teaspoon garlic powder
¼ teaspoon black pepper
¼ teaspoon oregano
¼-½ cup cornstarch

Directions:

Make pie crust.
1.  Add brown rice flour, cornstarch, tapioca flour, xanthan gum, salt, and garlic powder to a giant bowl.
2.  Add chunks of cold butter and beat on low until butter gets mixed and mixture becomes crumbly.
3.  Add egg and lemon juice.  Beat on low.  At this point the dough should be fairly dry but still stick together and be malleable.

Like Play-doh!

4.  Roll on a floured piece of parchment paper until approximately the size of the pan (including walls).
5.  Flip parchment paper to release dough into baking pan (mine basically fell apart so I used my hands to press the dough against the sides of the pan).  Poke holes in dough with a fork.

Ready to bake!

6.  Bake at 375°F for about 20 minutes (until crust starts to lightly brown and gets less soft). While this is baking, prepare filling.

Prepare filling.
1.  Add broth, veggies, nutritional yeast, and spices to a large pot over medium heat.  Keep on heat until warm throughout.  Add cornstarch until broth thickens (I added a little at a time while stirring and used atleast 1/4 cup).
2.  Pour contents into pre-baked crust.  Flatten remaining crust dough as done previously and lay over top of pie, trying your best to cover the entire thing.

At this point, I realized just how much food I was actually making!

3.  Bake at 375°F for about 35-45 minutes (until top crust is brown).

Hot out of the oven!

The crust had a nice consistency and melted in my mouth (as it should with 12 Tablespoons of butter).  The taste was very mild (in a good way), making it versatile for any type of pie crust I would ever need.  I will definitely keep this recipe as my go-to for pie crusts in the future.  I’m going to be eating this pot pie as leftovers for awhile!

Happy eating!

-c

Leave a Reply

