A One-Person Pity Party

I woke up Monday morning determined to dominate this week.  I felt like progress was being made at work and in life, I felt rejuvenated, and was prepared to tackle anything.  The week started out well, but has been going downhill ever since.  What I thought was progress at work turned out not to be, I feel like I have made all of the wrong choices when it comes to important life decisions, I am tired of feeling like crap all the time, and I basically just feel completely apathetic about everything.  I got home from work yesterday and just fell on the bed and started bawling.  Then my husband, Bob, trying to comfort me, was talking loudly (so that I could hear him above the sobs) and I just assumed he was screaming at me and got even more upset.  I told Bob that I wish I could just re-live the past ten years of my life because I would do everything differently.  Luckily after I calmed down, he was able to talk some sense into me during my one-person pity party. Bob told me that everyone has regrets, but we have to enjoy the progress we make as we learn from our mistakes and move on from them.

So, today, I am keeping these thoughts in my head in an attempt to have a more positive outlook on life:

1.  I have the best husband I could ever have dreamed of.  If I made different decisions over the past ten years, I never would have met him.
2.  Moving to Richmond may not have helped me figure out what I want to do with my life, but it at least confirmed what I do NOT want to do.  Baby steps.
3.  Things take time.  As long as progress is being made, I should keep chugging along.  I can’t become an expert at something quickly, and the journey itself is half the fun.
4.  Sometimes things just don’t work.  That doesn’t make me any less of a person.  Life is too short to dwell on those things.

How do you recover from life’s setbacks?

Happy eating!

-c

4 Comments

  1. Ann Pollok said,

    May 17, 2012 at 9:59 AM

    Hi Caroline, We all have a bad day or perhaps regret a decision we made. You have lots of time to trim the sails and start again with a clean slate (see below). You can do anything you choose to do and do it well.
    Trim – 1. to adjust the sails 2. to adjust the weight of the cargo, ballast, and crew of a ship to ride evenly through the water
    Start Over with a Clean Slate –
    A slate tablet was kept near the helm on which the watch keeper would record the speeds, distances, headings and tacks during the watch. If there were no problems during the watch, the slate would be wiped clean so that the new watch could start over with a clean slate.

  2. Walt Ritchie said,

    May 17, 2012 at 11:07 AM

    We all feel like that sometimes. You have a strong family that supports whatever decisions you make. We all do things we regret but once you make a decision you have to make the most of it. You are correct. Life is to short to worry about anything except the important things like friends and family. One thing you should have no doubt about is choosing the right husband. You are lucky to have someone who supports you as much as Bob does.

  3. May 17, 2012 at 4:59 PM

    You will never like every choice you make. That’s why the word experience is in the dictionary. You do have the baby steps part down right. Make small changes first and see if you like them…Yes, you continue…No, try something else. This approach works with almost everything. Attitude is the most important. And understand that it’s OK to fail…everyone else has.
    I’m glad you have a good man at your side. See? A good choice!

  4. critchie103 said,

    May 17, 2012 at 7:55 PM

    Thanks everyone!


Leave a Reply

