A “Pizza-Flavored Something”

Happy Monday!  Today felt like the longest day ever!  You know those days where your alarm goes off while you’re in an incredibly deep sleep, you stumble out of bed, get through most of the day, but never actually feel like you have woken up?  That was me today.  After working out this evening, I now feel more awake than I have all day…too bad it’s almost bedtime!

Last night I made something interesting for dinner.  A friend of mine posted a comment on my first blog post with a link for cauliflower crust pizza.  The recipe really intrigued me because I miss pizza and the only packaged gluten-free crust I have had was basically taste-less.  This recipe sounded simple and not as heavy as the typical carbohydrate-packed crust.

Looks great, right?

I pretty much followed the recipe (doubled so that we would have leftovers) except for my one major change that I think is to blame for my “pizza-flavored something”. My mistake–I decided to use frozen cauliflower instead of fresh.  I partially thawed it in the microwave before processing it and I think that the excess moisture really made the crust mixture too wet so that it didn’t bake properly.  Toward the end of the initial baking step, the edges started to burn while the middle wasn’t becoming crispy at all.  Once I added the toppings, I broiled it for a few minutes and attempted to slice it and transfer to a plate.  Disaster ensued.  The crust was very (and I mean VERY) soft.  It basically turned into mush.  I think that the recipe itself could be awesome and that my inability to follow directions is completely to blame for this “pizza-flavored something”.  I call it that because I can’t even describe the texture.  It tasted really good though!

I present to you a "pizza-flavored something".

For the toppings, I (actually, my husband) made homemade marinara sauce and we added sauteed onions and endive plus Kraft Natural Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese (this is the same cheese we used for the crust).  I will be trying this recipe again because I know I can make it work if I actually follow the directions.  I will probably also not add so much cheese to the crust and use more veggies as toppings.  The endive was interesting (my first time cooking/eating it!) but did not really add much to the flavor of the pizza.

I do want to share the recipe for our homemade marinara sauce that my brother-in-law taught us how to make!

Marinara/Pizza Sauce

Ingredients:

One 28oz can of crushed tomatoes (Hunt’s 100% Natural)

One onion (peeled and cut in half)

1 Tbs butter (Land O’ Lakes, salted)

1 tsp lemon juice

Roughly 1/2 tsp each of garlic powder, oregano, and basil (fresh is probably much better, but I am lazy)

Roughly 1/4 tsp each of thyme and crushed red pepper flakes

Instructions:

1.  Add all ingredients to a pot and bring to a medium/high heat.

2.  Once it starts bubbling, stir until butter is completely melted.

3.  Cover and reduce heat to a simmer.

4.  Let simmer for an hour (the longer, the better).

'Tis a simmering!

I usually remove the cooked onion and eat it later as a snack.  Is it weird to eat a whole onion as a snack?  Probably.  Oh well.  This sauce is great on pasta, quinoa, spaghetti squash, or eaten straight-up with a spoon.

If anyone tries to make this cauliflower crust pizza and it works for you, let me know!  Well, I am off to bed so I feel less like a zombie tomorrow!

Happy eating!

-c

4 Comments

  1. April 8, 2012 at 8:47 AM

    […] 2 jars or at least 1.5 batches of my homemade marinara sauce […]

  2. April 17, 2012 at 8:05 PM

    […] 1 (24 ounce) jar of your favorite marinara sauce or a single batch of my marinara sauce […]

  3. May 20, 2012 at 7:53 AM

    […] medium spaghetti squash 1 (24 ounce) jar of your favorite marinara sauce or a single batch of my marinara sauce Roughly 2 cups of spinach (frozen or fresh) About ¾ cup mozzarella cheese, grated (I used Kraft […]

  4. May 20, 2012 at 8:02 AM

    […] 2 large eggplants 2 jars or at least 1.5 batches of my homemade marinara sauce 2-3oz fresh spinach Shredded mozzarella cheese (Kraft Natural*) Shredded parmesan cheese (Kraft […]


Leave a comment